The Evolution of Friendships

Standard

Today while having a very tantalizing parrot fish at Jollys, I ran into my best friend from Prep School.  Now, prep school for me was approximately 20+ years ago.  I saw her and immediately knew it was here, but just looked more closely because the girl I remember had flawless skin, and this person I was looking at had some skin issues going on.  Just while I was making up my mind that it was really her, I saw her mother come in and I knew for sure it was her.

I went to her and she did not remember who I was.  She says she remembered my face but could not remember where she knew me from.  Now, I know that everyone doesn’t have a good memory like I do, so I didn’t really feel “cute” at her not recognizing me but to think that we used to do everything together at that very precocious age of 6 years old, I thought it was worth remembering.  It certainly was for me.  When I mentioned the prep school, this was immediately followed by the OMG, I can’t believe it’s you, it’s been so long speech.  We caught up for about 10 minutes and I talked to her mother and brother too.  She even took my # and my picture too.

Since then I have had 3 best friends to speak of – one of which I had to ditch because of being stabbed in the back, the other I also had to ditch because of being stabbed in the back somewhat in collusion with the other stabber, and the other I maintain a very close relationship with up to this day, although we did drift apart for a time, I still consider her to be my very bestest friend to this day.  There have also been people who have come into my life and I’m glad that I met them, formed meaningful friendships with them, some more meaningful than others.  This person would be my 2nd Best Friend, if there could be such a label.

Unlike “best friend #2”, you do come across people in your life, who at the time, were your lifeline, your companion, confidante, and then, for one reason or another, the friendship just fizzles to the occasional call to say you ran across my mind or you see/hear something that reminds you of the person, and then you call and realize that the person no longer lives/works at the # you have.  It is sad, because sometimes, if these friendships were allowed to develop, life could be a little bit more fulfilling.

At the end of the day, I’m glad that I have a few people I can call friends.  I don’t have many but the ones I do have mean the world to me, I cherish them a lot, and I thank God for bringing them into my life.

8 responses »

  1. MayB that meet-up over de parrot fish is de re-start, mayB not 2 a beautiful friendship, but at least a pleasant ongoin’ reacquaintance. U look that dif’rent 2 her now?! Maintainin’ long-term friendships is not ez 4 de introverted, believe U me.

  2. Your last paragraph pretty much sums it up. When it comes to friends, its definitely quality over quantity. I’d rather have a few good friends than a bunch of people who are going to do me wrong.

  3. I remember how devastated I was when my primary school friend got a new best friend somewhere in our second or third year of High School.I went home and cried but we got back close when we both ended up in America.

  4. First and foremost……Love the new digs!!!

    I am thinking about leaving blogger as well. I am kinda tired of the same old same old. Your page is great.

    “Friends how many of us have them……”

    I have one Best Friend and we had our share of fall outs over the years but our friendship is still going strong.

    Like Oraganized said it’s quality over quantity everytime.

    ~Smooches~

  5. I’ll go with the quality thing too. I’ve had one very good friend for about 15 years…nuff ups and downs but if you want it to work then you live for ups and work through downs.

Leave a Reply

