A Questionnaire Thru’ Marlon

Standard

This questionnaire from Vanity Fair was stolen from Croaking Marley, the author of John Crow’s Devil, a book I plan to read if I get the chance while on leave. I stumbled across him from Moppet On The Go.
What is your idea of perfect happiness?

Peace of Mind

What is your greatest fear?

That there is no good in someone.
Which living person do you most admire?

My “sister” Caron.  She worked hard to get where she is and never gave up.

What is the most overrated virtue?
Loyalty – sadly, like most things these days, it can be bought.

What is the trait you most deplore in others?

Hypocrisy – can never say that enough.

What is your greatest extravagance?

Tough one.  I have never been able to reallly afford extravagance, but if I could, it would be Art.

What is your Favourite journey?

Pregnancy to motherhood

On what occasion do you lie?

When I know for sure no one will be hurt because of it.

Which living person do you most despise

My paternal grandfather

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?
Hell no, OMG, Yu too lie, Fi real, No sah.

What is your greatest regret?

Not finishing secretarial school.  Although not entirely my fault, I still regret it.

When and where were you happiest?

Probably when I was a baby being fed, changed and rocked on demand.  But since I don’t really remember that time in my life, I’d have to say I’m happiest right here, right now.

What is your current state of mind?
Euphoric

If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?
Absolutely nothing. I love me exactly the way I am … ok, ok, my sensitive skin.
What is your greatest achievement?
Having my son
If you were to die and come back as a person or thing what do you think it would be?
A dolphin.
What is your most treasured possession?
My Journal
What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery
Not being at peace with yourself
Where would you like to live?
Somewhere in Europe. Have to get back to you on this one since I’ve never been to Europe.

What is your favourite occupation?
Have only had one so no favourite  yet, but I know I’d totally enjoy doing Interior Decorating.

What is your most marked characteristic?
Unbridled wit, charm and brutal honesty. People always say to me “I thought it, but you said it”. I have many marked characteristics …. I should be the 8th wonder of the world 🙂

What is the quality you like most in a man?

Ambition

What is the quality you like most in a woman?

Loyalty

Who are your favourite writers?
Sidney Sheldon

Who is your favourite hero of fiction?
Beppo from “The Wooing of Beppo Tate” and Bolo from “The Wine of Astonishment”
Who are your heroes in real life?
My father.

What is it that you most dislike?
Hypocrites and double standards

How would you like to die?
Quick and painless, like in my sleep.

What is your motto?
Patience Is A Virtue … duh!

7 responses »

  1. Greatest fear: that de world could get much worse B4 Jesus returns.
    Trait mi deplore in people: insincerity & no conscience.
    Words overused: ‘Whoa ya now!” “There’s a bit-uvva quandary.”
    Greatest achievement: bein’ there 4 mi family
    Ideal “living place”: a peaceful, humanitarian Jamaica
    A Man’s Best Quality: empathetic heart
    Woman’s Best Quality: empathetic heart
    Favourite writers: Miss Lou & James Baldwin (also Twain, Shakespeare, Lamb, Hughes, Sheldon, Cummings, McCourt, McKay, Oates, etc.)
    Fiction Hero: Atticus (from Mockingbird)
    Hero in life: 1. Mi late granny 2. Mi husband
    Would Die: Wid mi family
    Motto: Do unto others as U’d have them do unto U.

  2. I don’t think loyalty is over rated. if someone is doing things for you because of money, then they are loyal to your money not you. Money can’t buy my loyalty to my family and close friends – not even Bill Gates figures.

Leave a Reply

