Stages

Standard

Well, the tables have turned … and my little angel is now keeping us up at 3 night in a row  – all night.  He will wake up at about 10 or so and will not go back to sleep until 4 sometimes 5, this a.m., he’s still awake after waking up at 11 p.m.  The night before he was up at 7 until 4:40 a.m.

So, his father and I have started mapping out our action plan as we will need to work vociferously to get him out of this  dreaded cycle which will surely take its toll on the both of us if we don’t try to nip it in the bud.  Don’t get me wrong.  We’re not fooling ourselves.  This is a baby and will not understand when we say stuff like, “ok son, it’s time to go to sleep.  You’ve been up all day and nights are made for sleep therefore you should go to sleep”.  We think that we can at least try to start training him and form a sleep pattern that will work for everyone.

As the one who is with him every day, I know that he sleep on average 4 hrs at a time.  If he’s really tired (like he will be today) he’ll sleep for up to 8 hrs straight.  However, once he wakes up during the day, he only stays awake for a maximum of 2 hrs, long enough to be fed, burped and changed. This will have to be curbed. So, plan for Operation Night Sleep:

1.    wake him up after sleep for 4 hrs.

2.     feed, burp and change him

3.    stimulate him in an attempt to keep him awake as long as possible during the day time       hoping that he’ll be tired in the evenings

4.      Structure a ‘timetable’ of sorts to maximize sleep during the night hrs., i.e., waking him up at  8 p.m., getting him back to sleep by 11 or 12 so he’ll wake at 6 a.m.

This sounds really ambitious nuh true??  I think so and somewhere deep in the back of my usually very optimistic mind, there is a niggling that none of this will work.  My online baby resource, www.babyzone.com said that babies don’t know how to put themselves to sleep and there’s nothing you can do to put a baby to sleep if they don’t want to go nor wake them up if they don’t wanna be awake.  So, you see why I say Operation Night Sleep is ambitious.

I’ll let you know how it goes.  Any tips from the mothers out there?  Let’s hear them!!

8 responses »

  1. That baby zone site is prob’ly correct. I’d just say: U sleep when de baby sleeps. Let him set de sleep schedule right now. If U grab de opp’ty & hold 8 hrs (daytime sleep) when he does, U’ll be just as rested as he is even if U’re both up all night.

  2. Melody, that’s what I’ve been doing but I find that no matter how much sleep I get in the day, when night come, mi eye dem a lock down same way!! They always say, nothing like night sleep. And, just as with babies, I might lie down to sleep and don’t fall asleep until 2 hrs after even when I’m not watching TV or otherwise distracted.

    Well, he slept today after going to bed after 6 a.m. I managed to wake him up after 11, bathed him, put him down to go to the bathroom and when I came back 3 minutes later he was asleep again. So, I just put him back down and he only just got up 1/2 hr ago, 2:30 p.m. So, we’ll see what happens tonight.

  3. All I will say is I hope you do manage to get some sleep….some babies I have heard of have an agenda all of their own! Good luck. Lack of sleep is almost like an illness!

  4. Ha! I knew that your task as a mother was far too easy! Time that kid made you earn your motherly stripes. Hope it works out.

  5. I like your plan. Did the same with my sonny, though that was 9 years ago. Will be hard during the days, as you will still be tired, but it will pay off in the night. Good luck!

  6. Fro, it’s all good. I have no problem sleeping during the day and believe me I have no problem leaving a few things undone. I’m a very organized person, one who believe is planning, structure and strategy. So, definitely there will be things to do in the house. Priority, washing of baby’s clothes and stuff. Everything else is brawta and whatever it is, I may do one task a day no more than 2 hrs and of course check and write blogs 🙂

    My BF and I are a great team … we make everything work so I’m not worried at all, just thought I’d share the experience with you.

    Leon, nuh worry yuself. I have already earned at least 1 stripe thank you very much. The early days of motherhood are the easiest everyone will tell you and the time between now and 3 months will probably be the most difficult so I know what to expect, am prepared and all ready to go, learn as I go and do the best I can!!

Leave a Reply

