I want back my change

Standard

On Sunday, I took time out of my busy afternoon to go to Jamaica’s first Interior Decorators show.  Sad to say I was extremely disappointed at the displays there, not that they were bad, but I guess I expected more.  The show was promoted under the guise of the presence of some dude (I forget his name right now) from HGTV’s “Design on a Dime”.  There were a few interestingly unique displays there, but overall I don’t feel I got my J$500 worth.

As I’m about to move in to my new home, I thought it would be good to see what’s happening in decorating from the professionals point of view.  If you ask me, it’s much ado about nothing.  The displays did not demonstrate any exceptional artistic ability.  I mean, I could have thrown some of those displays together in my sleep!

I arrived at the Hilton Hotel where the show was held at approximately 4:30 p.m. and at 5:35, I was on my way back to the parking lot.  The highlight of the show for me was when my son woke up and was in awe of all the colours and bright lights surrounding him!  His eyes were wide open, head perked up as far as he could hold it!  Another highlight was that of a little girl, about 1+ who became a part of one of the displays that had a raggedy-Ann type looking doll on the bed and she decided that she just had to take it home to put on her own bed!  It was hilarious!

Take care peeps.

3 responses »

  1. I heard about it too. My mom’s a fan of HGTV, and I watch it with her too sometimes. Think they shortchanged us ’cause were from the islands?

  2. I went to it also and was really disappointed. I guess I thought that there would be more things to see, maybe things to do. It just seemed dead to me – and I was hoping to get some inspiration too.

    I want my money back!

Leave a Reply

