Experimentation

Standard

Disclaimer: This post is in no way intended to steal the thunder of the one I’ve affectionately dubbed The Picture Man. As previously mentioned, I will be embarking on a bout of experimentative (if this a word??) photography with my digital camera, after discovering a world of potential in the field of picture taking. I’m not sure why I even bothered to put up this disclaimer, since my picture-taking skills in no way measure up to the great one. However, so as not to mash any corns and fuel any ill feelings (not that I think this would happen), I’ll put it anyway. Thank you.

I took this picture of a flower that is in my garden. I have no idea of the name of this plant, but it is one of my favourites which I intend to take to my new home when I move.

Unknown Flower

Enjoy and happy Sunday everyone.

PS. Mad Bull, you need to rethink your concept of bloggers not posting on weekends. I’ve evidenced a few posts this one 🙂

14 responses »

  1. Not at all “The Picture Man” nuh upset at all, lol! I’m happy to see experimenting with your camera and taking a nice shot as well. What kinda camera do you have?

    If you want to learn about taking great photos, you could check out the Kodak website. They have some great tips on taking photos.

    I don’t know the name of the flower either, but maybe you can help me out with the name of the flower in my latest post on Exotic Island Photos

  2. Yes, Melody! You are very right! Thank God for the Internet. It is a Vinca Minor Vine (Shade Grass) Periwinkle. I’m surprised that it is a vine!

  3. I am not 100% certain, but I think the photo is actually Plumbago auriculata, a fairly common garden plant in Jamaica. I had not heard of Vinca Minor, but it is not the common periwinkle in Jamaica (Vinca roseus), and what I found online, I think it is quite a temperate plant.

  4. Firefly, you seem to be correct too. The Plumbago seems to be more bluish than purple. Maybe it’s a combination of the two!! What you guys think???

    Link to Vinca Minor: http://images.google.com/images?svnum=10&hl=en&lr=&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-US%3Aofficial&hs=KxJ&q=Vinca+Minor&btnG=Search

    Link to Plumbago Auriculata:
    http://images.google.com/images?q=Plumbago+auriculata&hl=en&lr=&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&hs=nGz&sa=X&oi=images&ct=title

  5. CD, some photos on de first link look just like de ones on de second link, so maybe U do have a hybrid between both. Mi noh know. Mi like those lavender petals though, always did like delicate flowers.

  6. Nice pic. You and Stunner should join forces maybe? What do you think? I think thats would be a good idea. Here is a picture I took Saturday morning. The Cayman Firefly offered an opinion as to what it is too…

    Click here.

  7. Actually CD, I notice that people don’t post much on weekends too. I guess after sitting in front of a pc all week, weekend they want to give that a break too.

Leave a Reply

