A New Beginning

Standard

cheers-image001_smallWelcome to 2009!  I’m not one to make resolutions as I believe that if one wants to make changes in their life, there is absolutely no reason to wait until the beginning of a new year.  What I will say is that there will be a greater focus on building my wealth this year, saving for my children’s education … my son says he wants to be an Astronaut so … yu know how dat go!  Also, I want to start doing more things with my family, going out more and having a lot more fun.  I am also going to focus on planning for my retirement … yeah, yeah, yeah, it may be a good 30 years away but if I want to be comfortable and afford health care if necessary then I have to start preparing from now.

One of my other goals is to start saving to go to the Olympics in London in 2012.  I think that may be my only opportunity to go location wise and financially.  I’ve always wanted to go to Europe and had actually planned to take a European cruise in 2009 and then came along my 2 bundles of joy so that had to be put on hold … and is now back on the radar!  I’m going to start checking out how much it will cost to actually go, including air fare for 4, hotel accommodation for 4, tickets to the key olympic events … athletics being priority of course and tours of other European cities.

I’m also hoping to get married this year, if my significant other decides to pop the question.  I haven’t told him that this is my wish for the new year.  I’m hoping that he wants the same thing and will make my wish come true.  Too bad he doesn’t know about this blog 🙂

I would also like to try to post more on my blog, and to talk more about me and the things I love to do.  I’ve been pretty conservative in the posts I write, tending to be more general and not write about my personal experiences.  One of the blogs I admire a lot is Mad Bull’s Blog.  He writes almost every day and about every day experiences … I mean, his blog gives an insight into who he is … I guess because I like the anonimity I enjoy with the blog, I have not written a lot of personal stuff.  So, I’ll try to let you into a little more of CD this year!

So, here’s to new beginnings, martinis all around and the start of the best year ever!

6 responses »

  1. Cheers to new beginnings! I don’t have any resolutions, but I guess I do have goals for 09! Hope you have a great year and realize your goals.

  2. Wishing you the best for 2009! I like your son’s lofty and astronomical ambitions.Certainly, he can become an astronaut!!Nuff respect!!

  3. @ Stunner, definitely working on realizing all those goals
    @ Esteban, thanks. I would love for you to hear when he says he is going to be an astronaut so he can touch the moon! It is just too cute!

  4. Ok that makes me ,you and Ruthibelle heading London for 2012.Happy New year and I wanna be a bridesmaid pleeeease.lol

  5. @ Abeni: I’m calling my travel agent tomorrow to get some quotes on the whole shebang so I’m keeping all fingers and toes crossed that I will be able to afford it.

  6. I agree with you on the whole resolution thing. With discipline, resolutions mean nothing. Hope your beloved doesn’t read this blog.

Leave a Reply

