Staying in Touch

Standard

It is amazing how hard it is these days to stay in touch.  I remember back in 1993, I went on a search for a penpal.  I went through a few and finally found one in Germany, a girl, the same age as me.  It was so much fun, writing letters (not email) on real paper, walking 10 minutes to the post office to mail these letters off, pay for the stamp and then wait for 2 months or sometimes more to get a reply.  I remember the excitement I would feel when the post man came and I would see the very familiar colourful envelops she used to send her letters in.

We corresponded for years until 1998 when we just lost tough with each other.  The last letter I wrote to her, I had just opened my very first email address, at Yahoo and had put that email address in the letter, saying it would be much easier for us to communicate this way.  When a year or 2 passed, I just accepted the fact that I had lost my very special friend.   As an only child, you cannot imagine the companionship you find in the strangest places.  My penpal and I connected so well, talking about the stresses of school, being a teenager, boys and the works.  And then, I didn’t hear from her.

FF to 2007 … I get an email from … you guessed it .. my long lost pen pal.  It was a good thing I never changed my email address … it is the same one I’ve had and used since 1997 … and now, we communicate more often, and we’ve even connected now on facebook.  Now we share pics electronically, back in 1997, we sent real photos, printed and all, and back then, they certainly weren’t call pics.

Now, what are the odds that we would reconnect in this way?

These days, we just get caught up in the daily grind of life, that we don’t make the time anymore to call up our friends, or an old one or too just to say hello and find out how they are doing.  I try to do that as much as possible.  I haven’t gotten around to calling every one yet, but it is so important to keep in touch.  It would be really sad to hear that someone you thought was a friend or special even in the smallest way, was no longer around for you to reach out to.

This year, let’s try to stay in touch with the people we care about, even a little.  It could make a difference.

On another note, I hope everyone remembers to check the “Thought For Today” tab at the right!

Bless up!

3 responses »

  1. That’s great,having a penpal was super cool.Sometimes I wish I could get a real letter:)

  2. I can’t remember if I have ever had a pen pal. Good to know you guess reconnected, bu not only did you just reconnect, your method of communication has also changed to match the technology of our time.

  3. Abeni, the other day I got a letter in the mail from my best friend in Canada … a picture of her son … a real picture.

    Stunner, my pen pal is on face book too, soh wi up to di time.

Leave a Reply

