Missing Home

Standard

I hate being away from my family.  The getting up early in the morning to prepare my children’s stuff for school, the morning rituals we have (like me trying to get my daughter to say good morning to me and her brother before she is properly awake!).  I miss them. 

It is a bitter sweet time when I’m away from them because it is good to get away sometimes from the daily grind and my job offers me that with a little travel every now and then.  So, I’m in Bim for work and you make so many observations that just make you say Hhmmm ..

A bellman that has been at one of the hotels I frequently stay at when I travel, died in February of this year I was told by one of his colleagues.  I always look forward to seeing him and for us to have a couple brief conversations before I go back home.  I noticed I didn’t see him when I got in on Tuesday night so I just figured he was on the next shift.  I asked for him yesterday and found out that he passed away after being ill for some time.  It was quite sad to hear but this year seems to be the year when the grim reaper is making some extra trips around the world.  So many people that I know and a few that have been somewhat close to me have died this year.  I also think about the time that I was in the hospital and my doctor told me that people have died from the condition I suffered from for a few weeks.  All I can say is “Leland, RIP my brother”.

On another note, the hotel had a outside bar-b-q buffet tonight so I opted for that rather than trying to find something on the street to eat.  They had a live performance from a group called “Renaissance” – a man and woman duo with a “DJ” playing tracks.  They sang a few of my favourites so I rather enjoyed rocking to some live music for a change.  When I looked at them I could see that they had done the routine over and over and over again.  There was no zeal to it, no pep in their step, no gumption in their wining, not much a connection with the audience.  I mean, they would end the song and there were no applause until about 4 seconds after the song was finished … go figure.   While sitting there, I noticed that the gym was near by and I saw an old couple go in their, climb on the treadmill and started to work out.  I thought to myself that it must be wonderful to have been married for all those years and regardless of what may have happened in between, in the last years of your life, you can actually enjoy something as simple as walking on the treadmill beside your husband.  Y’all may think I’m just silly, but so many relationships never make it to marriage, so many marriages never make it to “till death do us part”, so many couples can’t stand to be in the same space with their spouse after many many years together.  As silly as it may seem, I found it rather refreshing.  They were actually exchanging a few words and even though I couldn’t hear what they were saying, I’m sure it was some pleasantry or who knows even some dirty talk!  (I love me some dirty talk).

Anyhoo, I’m officilly vex with one of my blog peeps who will remain nameless who is also in Bim and promised to link up with me but has been too busy to pay me any mind!!! Mi vex!

I go home tomorrow and am looking forward to that, but not looking forward to the fat bill I will be getting for servicing my car which I left with the dealer when I left!  Any bankers out there … I may need a small loan :)!

Bless up.

7 responses »

  1. CD darling, mi vex too but wasn’t about being too busy at all , at all.

    i/m with you on that relationship business.So many of my friends are divorced,separated and they are young folks.

  2. Pingback: Homesick « Transfer Answers at Rowan

Leave a comment